POETRY!

In an effort to appear more productive, I realised that I have poetry sitting in my writing folder that people need to read. And, when I say need to read, I mean that I’ve written it and what kind of writer would I be if I didn’t post poetry to my blog.

This poem is about manual labour. It was written as a response to another poem I read ages ago and have since forgotten. All I remember was that it looked at manual labour and repetitious movement, so I wrote a poem about repetitious movement that was thrilling and exciting.

It owes a little to Edmund Spenser’s The Faerie Queene. I’m an English graduate and that’s a phrase I’m legally obliged to say at least once in my writing career.

 

For which they have no name

 

Come, all, and listen to my song

Of Gerulf, the son of Geor

Who’s tale brings fear to man and beast

In men here now and those before

As tall as mountain, eyes of fire

Strong as full-grown bore

His arms like trees, speed like wild deer

His heart was born of war

 

Upon Wolf hill, great beasts did stir

And fed and raped the land

The women fled; their children dead

The old too weak to stand

 

They cried out to the dying sky

For one who’s blood ran true

To slay the beasts, cut out their hearts

So peace could reign anew

 

The cave did open

His sword hung free

The beast did charge

He stabbed the beast

and slashed its neck

Tore out its tongue

Gouged out its heart

held in his hand

his face sprayed red

The beast was dead

 

Gerulf did weep, for those who lost

He held his sword in grasp

And vowed upon the mighty oak

no beast shall slip his wrath

 

He stormed toward the bone-strewn cave

All nature stood aside

No living thing that knew its mind

Would stop him in his stride

 

The cave did open

His sword hung free

The beast did charge

He stabbed the beast

and slashed its neck

Tore out its tongue

Gouged out its heart

held in his hand

his face sprayed red

The beast was dead

 

He saw the monsters in their den

Let out a mighty roar

That let all wolf, bear, deer and hawk

know Gerulf had declared war

 

No beast was spared, no monster fled

The cave turned black to red

The screams tore thunder across the sky

Till every beast was shred

 

The cave did open

His sword hung free

The beast did charge

He stabbed the beast

and slashed its neck

tore out its tongue

gouged out its heart

held in his hand

his face sprayed red

the beast was dead

 

For hours the people watched in awe

When great men take their stand

Gerulf came back, with hearts in hand

Peace settled upon the land

 

And Gerulf did tend upon his farm

And tended to his mate

Taught his son the sword and spear

Till sons time met with fate

Leave a Reply

